Award Winners Honored at Conference

Bob Shepard Receives the Drex Foreman Award – The Industry’s Highest Honor
Bob Shepard, the board chairman of Shepard Walton King Insurance Group in Harlingen, was named the 2016 Drex Foreman Award winner at IIAT’s 119th Annual Conference and Trade Show in San Antonio on June 17. The Drex Foreman Award is the highest honor awarded by IIAT and is named after Drex G. Foreman, who served as IIAT chief executive for more than 30 years.

As a long-time member of IIAT, Shepard is a past board member and president of both IIAT and IIAT Services Boards.  He has served on IIAT’s Legislative Committee and is the chairman of the IIAT IMPACT Board of Trustees. He serves nationally on the IIABA Insurpac Board and has played a critical role trough his service on the TWIA Board of Directors.

As a pioneer in the Republican Party, Shepard was elected to the State Republican Executive Committee in the late 80s.  He has served twice on the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. He was first appointed by Gov. George W. Bush in 1996 and was reappointed by Gov. Rick Perry in 2005. Shepard also served as chairman and president of the College for All Texans Foundation. Additionally, he is a past president of the University of Texas-Brownsville Development Board and former chairman of the Board of Regents of Pan American University in Edinburg.

In addition to his service to higher education, IIAT and political action; Sheppard has a strong commitment to his community. He is the former chairman of the Harlingen Area Chamber of Commerce and the past president of the Harlingen Economic Development Board. He has served on the boards of the Harlingen Industrial Foundation, Valley Partnership, Salvation Army and Texas Lyceum.

“Bob has been and continues to be a true servant leader to our industry, his community and business in Texas for over forty years. In his career he has become an influential voice at the Capital. I can’t think of anyone more deserving of the Drex Foreman Award,” said IIAT Governmental Affairs Director Lee Loftis.

André P. Juneau ELITExas Young Professional of the Year Award
Ross Ormond of Offenhauser & Co. Insurance in San Antonio was named the André P. Juneau Young Professional of the Year. This award is given annually to a young insurance professional who has achieved success through hard work, community engagement and industry participation in a manner that would be considered exceptional for a person of his or her age.

CSR of the Year Award
Ann Ratcliff, personal lines account manager at Bryan Insurance Agency in Graham, was named the CSR of the Year. This award is given annually to a CSR in Texas who exemplifies outstanding leadership and service to the independent agency system and to the public.

Read more about the award winners and their accomplishments.


This entry was posted in Events, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s